top of page
Search
  • lucikatran

Where I bought my washi tape



You might have seen a lot of artists on Instagram are using a type of medium called "washi tape" incorporate into their drawing. It saves time by adding texture, elevates the drawing and it is also fun to play with.

I, myself, also use washi tape in my works.






How much is it?

If you buy a bundle, one tape could cost around $1. Not all are the same. Some tapes cost more because either its size or has some extra detail (gold foil, sparkle, etc). But I think that you should get tapes around $1-$2 and $3-$4 at most. It is the best if one to do research of different places before buying.


I once bought tapes from independent store online (prefer not to say their name) for $3 for one tape. At that time, I thought that because the independent store has exclusive tapes that Amazon doesn't have so I decided to buy them. Later on, it turns out that those same tapes that I ordered were being sold on Amazon in a bundle set with cheaper price.

Where to get them? Back in 2017, I bought a lot of these little tapes, which I end up having a lot of them. I want to share a few tips to buy washi tape. I like to mention that you should check local art stores in your area. This is the safest option because you get to see the product before making any decisions. With that being said, let's move to online dealers. Most of washi tapes, if not all, I bought are manufacturer in China. I bought them on Amazon under a seller named Molshine. They sell washi tapes in bundle, which is turn out to be a good deal because you basically get a tape around a dollar. However, their stuffs change over time and you might unable to find that particular set of tapes that you want.


Alibaba is also a good place to get washi tapes and has more sellers. If you want those beautiful gold foil tapes, Alibaba is the place to go. The same goes with Ebay. Alibaba and Ebay has more varieties compare to Amazon.


There is also taobao but the site is in Chinese. Final thought I hope that this blog post helps you a little bit to get you some washi tapes. This is based on my research and anecdote. Please leave a comment if this helps you or you have some tips buying washi tape.








12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Update May 6

Spring is here and soon it will be Summer. I just finished the first chapter of my comic. Although I agonize and blame myself for procrastinating and working in a speed of a snail that it takes a year

Website plan

Okay, here is a list of what I want to include in the future. I will feature this post so whenever I finish a task, I can just cross it off - A resource page. Tutorial, freebie (line art, sketch, etc.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page